Despite a concerted smear campaign in the right-wing press, pro-Israeli Tory MP Andrew Percy reckons Labour MP Naz Shah is not antisemitic:

percy jewish

Not only is there no basis in facts to support the idea that there is some kind of institutionalised anti-Jewish sentiment in the Labour party, but Labour has historically been more ‘Jewish’ than the Tories.

By my count, since 1900 there have been at least 43 Jewish Labour MPs compared to 35 in the Tory Party (see list below).

And the Tory Party itself has had its own shameful and long history of antisemitism.

In 1902 two Conservative MPs, Major Sir William Evans-Gordan and Howard Vincent organised the British Brothers League, which campaigned against Jewish immigrants.

In 1939, a Scottish Tory MP Archibald Maule Ramsay formed the ‘Right Club‘ which campaigned to ‘oppose and expose the activities of organised Jewry’ and whose official slogan was “Perish Judah“.

And just last year a Tory candidate was suspended from the party after saying she would never support “The Jew” Ed Miliband.

This all of course not to mention the severe antisemitism of Tory peers such as the Daily Mail’s Lord Rothermere. Here he is with a good friend of his:

rothermere hitler

And the Daily Mail has the gall to criticise anti-semitism in Labour – despite the fact it has never apologised for its own:

It’s time the Daily Mail apologised for supporting Hitler and its antisemitic past

Another example of yet more shameless hypocrisy from the British establishment.


1. Manny Shinwell, Baron Shinwell (1884–1986) (1922) Labour cabinet minister and Chairman
2. Leslie Haden-Guest, Labour MP
3. Harry Louis Nathan, 1st Baron Nathan of Churt (1929) Liberal, later Labour MP
4. Barnett Janner (1931), Labour MP
5. Sydney Silverman (1935), Labour MP 1935
6. Lewis Silkin, 1st Baron Silkin (1936), Labour cabinet minister
7. Herschel Lewis Austin (1911-1974) (1945), Labour MP, Stretford and Urmston, Manchester
8. John Diamond, Baron Diamond (1945), Labour cabinet minister and SDP
9. Maurice Edelman (1911–1975) (1945) Labour MP
10. Harold Lever, Baron Lever of Manchester (1914–1995) (1945) Labour MP
11. Ian Mikardo (1908–1993) (1945) Labour MP
12. Samuel Segal (1945), Labour MP and later Deputy Speaker of the House of Lords
13. Leslie Lever, Baron Lever, Labour (1950)
14. Leo Abse (1958) Labour MP and social reformer
15. Myer Galpern (1959) Deputy Chairman of Ways and Means
16. John Silkin (1963), Labour cabinet minister
17. Joel Barnett (1964), Labour cabinet minister and life peer
18. Edmund Dell (1964),[43] Labour cabinet minister
19. Reginald Freeson (1964), Labour minister
20. Robert Maxwell (1964), Labour MP for Buckingham
21. Samuel Silkin, Labour cabinet minister and life peer (1964)
22. Paul Rose 1964-79 Labour MP
23. Eric Moonman (1966), Labour MP
24. Greville Janner (1970) Labour MP, now life peer
25. Sir Gerald Kaufman (1970) Labour minister
26. Neville Sandelson, Labour and SDP (1971)
27. David Weitzman, Labour MP
28. Millie Miller (1974-1977) Labour MP
29. Alf Dubs (1979-1987) Labour MP and life peer
30. David Winnick (1979-present), Labour MP for Walsall North
31. Harry Cohen (1983-2010)] Labour MP for Leyton and Wandstead
32. Robert Sheldon (1964-2001), Labour MP for Ashton-under-Lyne
33. Barbara Roche (1992-2005) Labour minister
34. Margaret Hodge (1994-present) Labour Minister of State
35. Louise Ellman (1997-present) Labour MP
36. Fabian Hamilton (1997-present) Labour MP
37. Oona King (1997-2005),[68] Labour MP (1997–2005) (Jewish mother)
38. Ivan Lewis (1997-present) Labour Minister of State for Health
39. Gillian Merron (1997-2010) Foreign Office Minister
40. David Miliband (2001-2013), Shadow Secretary of State
41. Ed Miliband (2005-present), Leader of the Labour Party (2010-2015)
42. Luciana Berger (2010-present) Labour MP for Liverpool Wavertree
43. Ruth Smeeth (2015-present), Labour MP for Stoke-on-Trent North

1. Alfred Mond, 1st Baron Melchett, (1906) Liberal later Conservative MP
2. Frank Goldsmith, Conservative M.P. for Stowmarket (1910)
3. Arthur Samuel, Conservative M.P. (1918)
4. Dudley Joel (1931), Conservative MP
5. Sir Gerald Nabarro (1950), Conservative MP
6. Sir Henry d’Avigdor-Goldsmid (1955) Conservative MP
7. Keith Joseph, Conservative cabinet minister and life peer (1956)
8. Sir Philip Goodhart (1957) Conservative MP and minister
9. Robert Adley [35] (1970), Conservative MP
10. James d’Avigdor-Goldsmid (1970), Conservative MP
11. Sally Oppenheim-Barnes (1970), Conservative MP
12. Michael Fidler,[48] Conservative MP
13. Toby Jessel[50] (1970), Conservative MP
14. Sir Anthony Meyer (1970), Conservative MP, leadership candidate
15. Leon Brittan, Baron Brittan of Spennithorne (1974) Conservative cabinet minister
16. Ivan Lawrence (1974), Conservative MP
17. Nigel Lawson, Baron Lawson of Blaby (1974-1992), Conservative Chancellor
18. Sir Malcolm Rifkind (1974-2015), Conservative Secretary of State
19. Edwina Currie (1983-1997), Conservative minister
20. Michael Howard (1983-2010), Conservative cabinet minister
21. Phillip Oppenheim (1983-1997), Conservative MP for Amber Valley
22. David Sumberg (1983–1997), Conservative MP for Bury South
23. Michael Fabricant (1992-present), Conservative MP
24. John Bercow (1997-present), Conservative MP, Speaker of House of Commons
25. Oliver Letwin (1997-present), Conservative shadow cabinet member
26. Julian Lewis (1997-present), Conservative MP
27. Jonathan Djanogly (2001-present), Conservative MP for Huntingdon
28. Lee Scott (2005-2015), Conservative MP
29. Grant Shapps (2005-present), Conservative MP for Welwyn Hatfield
30. Brooks Newmark (2005-2015), Conservative MP for Braintree
31. Michael Ellis (2010-present), Conservative MP for Northampton North
32. Robert Halfon (2010-present), Conservative MP for Harlow
33. Zac Goldsmith (2010-present), Conservative MP for Richmond
34. Lucy Frazer (2015-present), Conservative MP for South East Cambridgeshire
35. Dominic Raab (2010-present), Conservative MP for Esher and Walton